Show your support: Donate Now


Support HRCBM: Please donate Now


Monday, April 5, 2010

PCJSS National Conference held in Rangamati

Source: PCJSS

On 29-31 March 2010, 9th National Conference of Parbatya Chattagram Jana Samhati Samiti (PCJSS) was held at Rangamati town hall in Rangamati urging to strengthen unity and solidarity of Jumma peoples in order to accelerate self-determination movement. More than 500 representatives and observers of PCJSS, Parbatya Chattagram Mahila Samiti, Pahari Chhatra Parishad, Hill Women’s Federation, Parbatya Chattagram Juba Samiti and Girisur Shilpi Goshthi attended the conference.

It is mentionable that on 29 March 2010 at 10.00 am a public gathering was organised at the premises of Rangamati Gymnasium on the inauguration of the National Conference of PCJSS. PCJSS president Jyotirindra Bodhipriya Larma alias Santu Larma inaugurated the conference where Presidium member of Gono Forum Mr. Pankaj Bhattacharya, general secretary of Workers Party Anisur Rahman Mollik, presidium member of Communist Party of Bangladesh Shah Alam, information and publicity secretary of PCJSS Mangal Kumar Chakma and Pahari Chhatra Parishad (PCP) president Udayan Tripura also addressed the meeting.

Inaugurating the three-day council, Mr. Larma said the ethnic people in CHT are passing their days in extreme insecurity. He reiterated PCJSS demand for full implementation of the CHT Accord and urged the government to curb all sorts of anti-peace activities in the CHT.

On the other, at the last day of the conference, National Conference elected a 27-member 10th central committee of PCJSS. Soon after the election, the central committee members themselves elected an executive committee with following portfolios-

(1) Mr. Jyotirindra Bodhipriya Larma – President

(2) Mr. Ushatan Talukder – Vice President

(3) Mr. Pranati Bikash Chakma - General Secretary

(4) Mr. Maxmi Prasad Chakma – Political Affairs Secretary

(5) Mr. Shaktipada Tripura - Organising Secretary

(6) Mr. Thuimraching Chowdhury – Assistant Organising Secretary

(7) Mr. Kyaba Mong Marma - Organising Secretary

(8) Mr. Mangal Kumar Chakma – Information and Publicity Secretary

(9) Mr. Sajib Chakma – Assistant Information and Publicity Secretary

(10)Mr. Subhash Basu Chakma – Youth Secretary

(11)Mr. Chinghla Mong Chak – Land and Agriculture Secretary

Rest of the central members, among others, included Mr. Goutam Kumar Chakma, Ms. Madhabi Lata Chakma, Ms. Jarita Chakma, Ms. Kalpana Chakma, Mr. K S Mong Marma et al. Four members on the committee were new faces. They included Mr. Soukin Chakma, Mr. Kyana Mong Marma, Mr. Shambhu Kumar Tanchangya and Mr. Bidhayak Chakma. Central Committee also elected Mr. Amiya Sen Chakma, Mr. Sneha Kumar Chakma and Dr. Kanishka Chakma as advisers.

Seven central members of the 9th central committee, such as, Mr. Rupayan Dewan, Mr. Sudhasindhu Khisa, late Chandra Shekhar Chakma, Mr. Tatindra Lal Chakma, Mr. Mrinal Kanti Tripura, Mr. Binoy Krishna Khisa and Mr. Shaktiman Chakma were expelled on charges of breach of party discipline.

The National Conference also reviewed organisational activities, evaluated the overall situation in the CHT pertaining to overall situation of Bangladesh and the world, assessed the progress in implementing the CHT Accord signed between the PCJSS and the government of Bangladesh, and set the party’s future political programme.

The future political programme included to strengthen greater unity and solidarity of Jumma people, accelerate the movement for full implementation of CHT Accord including execution of CHT Regional Council Act and three Hill District Council Acts, resolution to land dispute by amending the land commission law, withdrawal of all temporary military camps including de facto military rule ‘Operation Uttoron’ from the CHT and rehabilitation of repatriated refugees and IDPs, participate in all democratic movements, increase the party’s involvement in movements against ultra-communal forces including war crimes trial, intensify activities to end all kinds of anti-accord activities including armed violence etc.

No comments: